Skip to main content

Book Cover Guessing Challenge!






Alright my little lilies gather around, I've got something really cool in store for this post. But before we dive into the fun let me thank the lovely Erika from Books, Stars, Writing, And Everything In Between for tagging me in this. If you want to see her post just click on the link above and go for it. 


Here is the way this is going down.
Choose a couple of books that you know a wee bit about or nothing at all about and try to guess what they are about based on the cover and title. The books may be well-known or just familiar to you, but you haven't shelved it on Goodreads or even looked into it. After you are done guessing, compare your guess with the actual description on Goodreads, and see how well or awful you've done.  I’ve chosen 3 books.









My Thoughts
It's about a girl who brings people back to life? Or she's dead herself and comes back as a ghost? She looks strong though, maybe so will fight the people who killed her? Get revenge. I don't know.

Blurb
Rose has reason to celebrate. She just graduated high school, she finally worked up the nerve to ask Roger on a date, and it looks like her family's necromancy skipped her.

But then she finds the corpse of a homeless man behind her brother Ed's restaurant and inadvertently revives him. Not only has she inherited her family's necromancy after all, but it's the most potent form that exists. She wants nothing to do with the magic that drove her father to kill her mother and then himself, and so she refuses to read her family's book of magic or admit that she's anything but normal.

However, her power attracts three lumenancers, or wielders of light, to Albuquerque to kill her. For centuries, they have believed it their sacred duty to wipe out necromancers. Not only are they eager to eliminate Rose, but they want to kill Ed, too, just to make sure he can't pass the magic on.

Rose searches for a peaceful, mundane way to get the lumenancers to leave her alone, but when they threaten Ed, she must embrace her necromancy and all that the book of magic has to teach her.


I suck at this already, but anyway, on we go!




My Thoughts
It looks like it's set in an older time by her hairstyle. She looks dead in the face though, maybe someone killed her? Or hurt her? The rose I don't know but it's a beautiful cover.


Blurb
I am alone in a decaying world, abandoned by the man who stole my memories, yet claimed to love me. 

I will journey through the darkest parts of the old world, facing horror and death along the way. A soldier will save me, bringing me to the great walled city of Veracity. I am drawn to him, but he harbors secrets that will change my life. 

Relearning the strict rules of the world I was born into will be the easy part. Figuring out I'm more than just a pawn, in a game I can't remember, will be a matter of life and death.


This is why you should never judge a book by it's cover!!!






My Thoughts
Winter is bad. It's something that is going to hurt her? She doesn't look scared though, she maybe a fighter? Ready to kill these Winter People. 


Blurb
An engrossing, complex, romantic fantasy perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore or Maggie Stiefvater, set in a wholly unique world.

Salome Montgomery fears winter—the cold, the snow, the ice, but most of all, the frozen pond she fell through as a child. Haunted by the voices and images of the strange beings that pulled her to safety, she hasn't forgotten their warning to "stay away." For eleven years, she has avoided the winter woods, the pond, and the darkness that lurks nearby. But when failing health takes her grandparents to Arizona, she is left in charge of maintaining their estate. This includes the "special gifts" that must be left at the back of the property.
 


Salome discovers she’s a key player in a world she’s tried for years to avoid. At the center of this world is the strange and beautiful Nevin, who she finds trespassing on her family’s property. Cursed with dark secrets and knowledge of the creatures in the woods, his interactions with Salome take her life in a new direction. A direction where she'll have to decide between her longtime crush Colton, who could cure her fear of winter. Or Nevin who, along with an appointed bodyguard, Gareth, protects her from the darkness that swirls in the snowy backdrop. An evil that, given the chance, will kill her.




Yeah okay, I suck as this but it was fun! Now I'm going to tag two people. Hope you guys have fun!









Popular posts from this blog

(Pride) Book Review - Sagittarius Saves Libra

True love is on the horizon, Sagittarius. It’s a good time to step out of your routine and into the unknown. Jason Lyall wants someone to come home to, someone he can be his most ridiculous self with. Someone who loves him regardless. But no matter how hard he tries, he can never quite make that connection, and now his last girlfriend has moved on—she’s engaged. So when his identical twin begs him to swap lives for a few weeks, Jason can see the appeal. Suddenly he’s living another life in a tiny Australian town, contending with weird, wild, and wonderful things the likes of which he’s never encountered before. Like spiders. Like snakes. Like his new neighbour, Sergeant Owen Stirling, who is all kinds of . . . suspicious. Prepare to be caught in a merry mix-up, Libra. It’s a dance of side-stepping and seduction. Book Breakdown I did not know this was coming! When I woke up on June 1st and saw an email from Amazon saying the author dropped a new book in this series... I lost it! I hones

Music Monday - Recent Plays

This fun meme is hosted over at Always Me   I listened to a lot of music over this past week because I've been on fall break. It's been pretty good minus all the tornadoes and bad weather, but today the high was only around 70! That's amazing for this part of Oklahoma.  The music I've been vibing to is darker sounding songs since it's so close to Halloween! This year my partner and I are gonna crave pumpkins that always and then I'm gonna go with a friend on a train ride. She said she's done it before and it's fun. I'm hoping she'd right!  But for now, to the songs! Sooooooo what did you think? Let me know below and have a great week! Stay safe, wear a mask, and happy reading! 

Bisexual Erasure (Pride Month)

Happy Pride! Since today is bisexual day, I wanted to talk about something important to me. I hope you'll listen with open ears, mind, and heart. Thank you.  I’ve seen this happening for years now. People will say things like, “it’s a phase” or “pick a side.” I’ve even seen some say that bisexual people only like cisgender men and women and exclude all other genders. Which isn’t always the case. Sure, some bisexual people feel that way, which is why pansexual and other names came into play. But at its core, being bisexual just means that you’re attracted to more than just one gender.  I’ve never hidden on this blog the fact that I’m bisexual but I rarely talk about the struggles I feel because it just never felt right when you have gay people that have to hide their complete selves for fear of what the world could do to them.  Or trans people who spend every day trapped in the wrong body and can’t tell anyone to get the things they need to be their truth selves.  Put against issues