Skip to main content

Cirque Du Freak by Darren Shan - Book Breakdown

In the tradition of Stephen King's 'Salem's Lot, Cirque Du Freak is the frightening saga of a young boy whose visit to a mysterious freak show leads him on a journey into a dark world of vampires. Filled with grotesque creatures, murderous vampires, and a petrifying ending, Cirque Du Freak will chill, thrill, and leave readers begging for more.

I was an ordinary boy,
until I visited the Cirque Du Freak...
until I met Madam Octa... until I came
face to face with a creature of the night.
That's when my life changed completely.
I don't expect you to believe me, but
everything I describe in this book
is absolutely true...


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~




Book Breakdown

According to Goodreads, I've read this book five times. So I know I've read it a lot more than that. I still love this series. I found it when it was all finished as a wee little kid and read them all so fast that my parents took me to the book store every single day after school to get the next one. Eventually, they just bought the whole series and let me have at it. Which was better for me.

My partner recently got me the UK boxset because it's so cute and it was on sale! I never pay full price for anything. Not in today's world, there's no use! So when I saw it was on sale, he snapped it up for me.

So, I thought it was time for another reread! This is a middle-grade horror series about vampires! But there's a neat twist to these vampires. They are turned by fingertips, they share blood that way. They also don't live forever, just longer than a normal human. But they do have some neat powers!

This first book follows young Darren as he sneaks off with his best friend Steve and heads off to a freak show. Only Steve happens to notice that one of the freaks is a real-life vampire! He begs the vampire to turn him but he refuses! Darren steals the vampire's pet spider, thinking he can train it to work with him. Turns out the spider sinks it's fangs into Steve when they're playing with her and the only way to save him is for Darren to become the vampire's assistant, thus becoming a vampire himself!

This really sets up the world and story quickly while still telling a great story! Something I love about middle-grade books is that they get right to the meat of it. There's no filler, just the juicy parts I want. Nothing is boring in this book. It's fun, dark, and Darren is a great character!

Now, I need to jump into the next one!




Popular posts from this blog

(Pride) Book Review - Sagittarius Saves Libra

True love is on the horizon, Sagittarius. It’s a good time to step out of your routine and into the unknown. Jason Lyall wants someone to come home to, someone he can be his most ridiculous self with. Someone who loves him regardless. But no matter how hard he tries, he can never quite make that connection, and now his last girlfriend has moved on—she’s engaged. So when his identical twin begs him to swap lives for a few weeks, Jason can see the appeal. Suddenly he’s living another life in a tiny Australian town, contending with weird, wild, and wonderful things the likes of which he’s never encountered before. Like spiders. Like snakes. Like his new neighbour, Sergeant Owen Stirling, who is all kinds of . . . suspicious. Prepare to be caught in a merry mix-up, Libra. It’s a dance of side-stepping and seduction. Book Breakdown I did not know this was coming! When I woke up on June 1st and saw an email from Amazon saying the author dropped a new book in this series... I lost it! I hones

Music Monday - Recent Plays

This fun meme is hosted over at Always Me   I listened to a lot of music over this past week because I've been on fall break. It's been pretty good minus all the tornadoes and bad weather, but today the high was only around 70! That's amazing for this part of Oklahoma.  The music I've been vibing to is darker sounding songs since it's so close to Halloween! This year my partner and I are gonna crave pumpkins that always and then I'm gonna go with a friend on a train ride. She said she's done it before and it's fun. I'm hoping she'd right!  But for now, to the songs! Sooooooo what did you think? Let me know below and have a great week! Stay safe, wear a mask, and happy reading! 

Bisexual Erasure (Pride Month)

Happy Pride! Since today is bisexual day, I wanted to talk about something important to me. I hope you'll listen with open ears, mind, and heart. Thank you.  I’ve seen this happening for years now. People will say things like, “it’s a phase” or “pick a side.” I’ve even seen some say that bisexual people only like cisgender men and women and exclude all other genders. Which isn’t always the case. Sure, some bisexual people feel that way, which is why pansexual and other names came into play. But at its core, being bisexual just means that you’re attracted to more than just one gender.  I’ve never hidden on this blog the fact that I’m bisexual but I rarely talk about the struggles I feel because it just never felt right when you have gay people that have to hide their complete selves for fear of what the world could do to them.  Or trans people who spend every day trapped in the wrong body and can’t tell anyone to get the things they need to be their truth selves.  Put against issues