Skip to main content

A Deal with the Elf King - Book Breakdown

Perfect for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses and Uprooted, this stand-alone, fantasy romance about a human girl and her marriage to the Elf King is impossible to put down!

The elves come for two things: war and wives. In both cases, they come for death.

Three-thousand years ago, humans were hunted by powerful races with wild magic until the treaty was formed. Now, for centuries, the elves have taken a young woman from Luella's village to be their Human Queen.

To be chosen is seen as a mark of death by the townsfolk. A mark nineteen-year-old Luella is grateful to have escaped as a girl. Instead, she's dedicated her life to studying herbology and becoming the town's only healer.

That is, until the Elf King unexpectedly arrives... for her.

Everything Luella had thought she'd known about her life, and herself, was a lie. Taken to a land filled with wild magic, Luella is forced to be the new queen to a cold yet blisteringly handsome Elf King. Once there, she learns about a dying world that only she can save.

The magical land of Midscape pulls on one corner of her heart, her home and people tug on another... but what will truly break her is a passion she never wanted.

A Deal with the Elf King is a complete, stand-alone novel, inspired by the tales of Hades and Persephone, as well as Beauty and the Beast, with a "happily ever after" ending. It's perfect for fantasy romance fans looking for just the right amount of steam and their next slow-burn and swoon-worthy couple.



Book Breakdown


After reading this, I can say it truly is inspired by Beauty and Beast and the story of Hades and Persephone. You can tell by the Elf King himself. He's rough and cold until Luella gets him to open up. The plot is simple, Luella's chosen as the next woman from her village to go into Elf lands for the sake of both people. She wasn't prepared for the role because one of the Keepers gave her a necklace that hid her powers. Even she didn't know herself. 

The necklace was pretty useless because the Elf King finds her quickly anyway and takes her into his lands across the Fade. She spends her time trying to find a way back to her people while slowly falling for the Elf King.

I loved the Fade. It was dark and misty, and I wished we could spend more time there. Most of this book takes place in the castle of the Elf King. We do spend some time in the human town but just at the start and end. 

I wanted more darkness from a novel that claims inspiration from two dark stories. But it's a lot like any other new adult fantasy romance. Granted, I loved this novel because of the delicious slow burn, but honestly, it's nothing new. 

I know not every book needs to be something groundbreaking and original, and again, I still really liked this novel. I'm going to read the squeal for sure! I just expected more from the story.

The writing is straight forward and easy to read. No purple prose or anything fancy. Which I usually prefer. It's easier to get into the story that way for me. 

A Deal with the Elf King is a superb standalone fantasy romance! It's not often I find a standalone like this with good world-building. I applaud the author for doing such a great job without any huge info-dumping parts. Sure, there are parts where characters will explain things, but it never feels like info-dumping. Instead, the author makes it fun to read.

To wrap all this up. The story isn't perfect with the ending - the choice that Luella made. Still, it's so rare that I find a well-done standalone in fantasy so I fully recommend it! 


Popular posts from this blog

(Pride) Book Review - Sagittarius Saves Libra

True love is on the horizon, Sagittarius. It’s a good time to step out of your routine and into the unknown. Jason Lyall wants someone to come home to, someone he can be his most ridiculous self with. Someone who loves him regardless. But no matter how hard he tries, he can never quite make that connection, and now his last girlfriend has moved on—she’s engaged. So when his identical twin begs him to swap lives for a few weeks, Jason can see the appeal. Suddenly he’s living another life in a tiny Australian town, contending with weird, wild, and wonderful things the likes of which he’s never encountered before. Like spiders. Like snakes. Like his new neighbour, Sergeant Owen Stirling, who is all kinds of . . . suspicious. Prepare to be caught in a merry mix-up, Libra. It’s a dance of side-stepping and seduction. Book Breakdown I did not know this was coming! When I woke up on June 1st and saw an email from Amazon saying the author dropped a new book in this series... I lost it! I hones

Music Monday - Recent Plays

This fun meme is hosted over at Always Me   I listened to a lot of music over this past week because I've been on fall break. It's been pretty good minus all the tornadoes and bad weather, but today the high was only around 70! That's amazing for this part of Oklahoma.  The music I've been vibing to is darker sounding songs since it's so close to Halloween! This year my partner and I are gonna crave pumpkins that always and then I'm gonna go with a friend on a train ride. She said she's done it before and it's fun. I'm hoping she'd right!  But for now, to the songs! Sooooooo what did you think? Let me know below and have a great week! Stay safe, wear a mask, and happy reading! 

Bisexual Erasure (Pride Month)

Happy Pride! Since today is bisexual day, I wanted to talk about something important to me. I hope you'll listen with open ears, mind, and heart. Thank you.  I’ve seen this happening for years now. People will say things like, “it’s a phase” or “pick a side.” I’ve even seen some say that bisexual people only like cisgender men and women and exclude all other genders. Which isn’t always the case. Sure, some bisexual people feel that way, which is why pansexual and other names came into play. But at its core, being bisexual just means that you’re attracted to more than just one gender.  I’ve never hidden on this blog the fact that I’m bisexual but I rarely talk about the struggles I feel because it just never felt right when you have gay people that have to hide their complete selves for fear of what the world could do to them.  Or trans people who spend every day trapped in the wrong body and can’t tell anyone to get the things they need to be their truth selves.  Put against issues