Thursday, January 14, 2021

Onision: In Real Life - TV Talk (Discovery+)



So I just learned about Discovery+ and signed up for it because they have a few shows that my partner and I love. He enjoys Naked and Afraid and true crime, while I love Ghost Adventures and a few cooking shows. So we thought this was great! 

While looking through the originals, I found Onision: In Real Life. About an abusive, sexual predator that is still making YouTube videos today. He uploads daily, so you could hop over to YouTube and check him out right now. 

This documentary covers his early life a little, but it kicks off when he started his channel. It shows him and his first wife and then his second partner, who was only 17 when they first hooked up. He actually had to check the laws in the state they were going to be in to make sure it was legal for them to sleep together. He was 25. 

It shows videos where he was opening abusive to her. One day, while they were having sex, he stopped in the middle of the act to shave her head, then they went back to the action. Who would do that to someone?

He even caused her to have a stress-related seizure!

I had to look into this more because - as of now - only the first episode is out. There's going to be three, I believe. But I had to know more now. It's insane how deep this rabbit hole goes. It's not for the faint of heart. There's grooming, more abuse, just really gross stuff, and even one of his kids getting hurt. 

All this left me wondering... why is he still allowed on YouTube? I wish I could answer that, but I can't. If you have the time, I fully recommend checking this out. You can learn everything off YouTube for free if you can't or don't want to pay for Discovery+. 

Just before, it's a scary deep rabbit hole that spans years. 

In the end, I was left with a single thought: it's honestly scary the stuff some people can get away with just because they're kind of famous.


Monday, January 11, 2021

Music Monday - Pop Hits

This meme is hosted over at Always Me

Today I'm going to share two songs but two different artists that I've found recently and liked. I really hope you like them too! One is pretty upbeat and makes me feel like dancing, the other has a nice beat hiding a more sad song. I hope you enjoy them both!




I really hope you enjoyed these! Which was your favorite? Let me know below and as always, have a great week! 


Sunday, January 10, 2021

Netflix's Bridgerton - TV Talk

 

I'm going to commit one of the deadliest book sins out there with this one... but it's gotta be done.

Wednesday, January 6, 2021

January TBR

I hope you all had a lovely holiday. Mine was kept low-key, but my partner and I did watch the last half of Vikings. God, I won't spoil anything for anyone who hasn't watched it. But I didn't care for the ending at all. It was disheartening to me. 

But moving on, it's that time again my friend, where I mention the books I want to read this month and then never read them. Of course, I'm still hoping to change that and so I've picked books that I really want to read. Hopefully, this helps. 

Monday, January 4, 2021

Music Monday - Plastic Hearts

This meme is hosted over al Always Me 


So in November Miley Cyrus came out with a new album and it's better than I thought. Much, MUCH better than the stuff she's put out the last few years - in my humble opinion. I still only like a few songs off this one but I really like this these songs and wanted to share! She really was inspired by rock stars from earlier times.


***WARNING LANGUAGE***







 

Well that's all for this week! What was your favorite song? Let me know below! Have a great week and happy reading!


Sunday, January 3, 2021

Her Perfect Bones - ARC Breakdown

The girl's body is curled up like a shell and almost completely buried in sand. Only her fingertips can be seen, reaching helplessly up towards an escape she will never find…

Seventeen-year-old Shelby Mayfield sits alone on a bus to Fog Harbor, California. Aside from a few items of clothing, all she has with her is twenty-two dollars, the ragdoll she’s kept since kindergarten, and the devastating secret she’s been hiding.

How long will it be before her family realizes she’s gone?

Can anyone see the fresh bruise on her cheek beneath the makeup?

Perhaps she was a fool to believe the person she is meeting in this remote little town could help her…

When a girl’s body is found hidden in a barrel in a woodland cabin, the local police are at a loss. The film from an old camera found looped around her neck is their only lead, but Criminal Psychologist Olivia Rockwell’s blood turns to ice when she recognizes the ragdoll in one of the girl’s last photographs. She used to own one just like it, and it can only mean one thing: if she doesn’t dig deep into the mind of a deadly killer from her past—her own father—more innocent lives will be in danger…

A totally gripping and utterly addictive crime thriller for readers who love Lisa Regan, Kendra Elliot and Melinda Leigh. But be warned: you’ll be sleeping with the lights on after you’ve raced through the pages in one sitting!


Book Breakdown

Are you looking for action? An epic car chase? Slow burn romance that's filled with tension? What about really cool crime scenes? Twist and turns you never see coming? Then this is the book for you! I love Decker and Rockwell! Even though this book is on the longer side: it never once dragged on. Which is something other books in this genre have done for me. It's perfectly paced between keeping you on the edge of your seat and giving you room to breathe before the next big moment.

As with every book, this author's writing keeps getting better. She's getting so good with her witty dialogue and I'm here for it!

Start this series today! You will not regret it! It's worth it alone for the gritty world the author has built and how she keeps flushing out these complex characters. I can't wait to see where this goes next!

*Thanks to the author and NetGalley for this title in exchange for an honest review*


Thursday, December 31, 2020

Goodreads - My Year in Review

 

At the time this came out I've read 206 books and 51,115 pages. So that's pretty dang good for me! I always have a personal goal of reading 200 books or more. So I made that goal for 2020!