Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from June, 2018

King's Rising - Review

Damianos of Akielos has returned. His identity now revealed, Damen must face his master Prince Laurent as Damianos of Akielos, the man Laurent has sworn to kill. On the brink of a momentous battle, the future of both their countries hangs in the balance. In the south, Kastor’s forces are massing. In the north, the Regent’s armies are mobilising for war. Damen’s only hope of reclaiming his throne is to fight together with Laurent against their usurpers. Forced into an uneasy alliance the two princes journey deep into Akielos, where they face their most dangerous opposition yet. But even if the fragile trust they have built survives the revelation of Damen’s identity—can it stand against the Regent's final, deadly play for the throne? Book Breakdown Wow! I can't even over how amazing this book was. We finally get to see Damen be his true self and Laurent dealing with it. There was a little something in here that I didn't see coming that I really loved. We see them work togeth

50/50 Friday - Favorite/Least Favorite Genre

50/50 Friday is hosted here on this blog and over at Blue Eye Books .  What is 50/50 Friday? Everyone has a favorite and then we also have something we dislike. Like a coin, there are two sides to every question. Example: best sequel you've read/worst sequel you've read. So that's what 50/50 Friday is all about. We will have a new topic every Friday (something bookish of course!). If you have have ideas for this meme don't be scared to let us know! Topic for the Week  Favorite/Least Favorite Genre This is so easy for me. I didn't even have to think about this one and I'm sure you guys feel the same way, we all have a genre we love and then we have one that we usually stay away from. Well, here's mine. Least Favorite  Erotica Favorite  Paranormal Romance  Topic for Next Week Best/Worst Read in June

Incognito - ARC Review

A troubled Popstar forced into hiding… A sweet small-town girl overcoming tragedy… And the kind of love that only happens once in a lifetime. Dakota’s dreams of attending Juilliard were shattered the night tragedy struck her family. It’s one year later, and she’s now enrolled at a local university trying to piece her life back together. Shawn is one of the world’s most famous faces, having lived under a spotlight since his star exploded when he was fourteen. Now jaded by an industry forcing him to perform music he no longer enjoys, he craves normalcy and the opportunity to rediscover his muse. When a crazy stalker gets too close, and death threats start mounting, Shawn’s management team comes up with a plan—one which will allow him to work on his latest album while staying incognito on a college campus. Romance is the last thing on Dakota’s mind, but after she crosses paths with a hot, prickly cutie with rock-hard abs and smoldering good looks, she can’t shake him from her thoughts. Sh

Meeting Eternity - Review

Would you risk your life for love? Rose Clyde lost her girlfriend six months ago in a tragic accident. Since then, she simply goes through the motions, knowing she might be doomed to spend the rest of her life grieving. But when her best friend calls with a strange job offer—working the front desk of an old hotel up the Maine coastline—it’s an offer Rose can’t refuse. And a chance to restart her life. But Rose isn’t prepared for Kane Sullivan, her new boss. This enigmatic, captivating woman, from their very first meeting, has Rose spellbound. There’s something about Kane that seems so familiar…why does Rose feel as if she’s seen this lovely, powerful woman before? As the strange old Sullivan Hotel begins to reveal its dark secrets, Rose’s life hangs in the balance. But an even greater danger looms: She’s falling in love with a vampire. “Meeting Eternity” is the first volume in the Sullivan Vampires series. It contains the full first three novellas in the series: Eternal Hotel, Eternal

Prince's Gambit - Review

With their countries on the brink of war, Damen and his new master, Prince Laurent, must exchange the intrigues of the palace for the sweeping might of the battlefield as they travel to the border to avert a lethal plot. Forced to hide his identity, Damen finds himself increasingly drawn to the dangerous, charismatic Laurent. But as the fledgling trust between the two men deepens, the truth of secrets from both their pasts is poised to deal them the crowning death blow . . .  Book Breakdown This one is so much better than the first one! There's also less rape and beatings. Laurent actually is shown to have a heart. I found myself really loving his character more and more through this installment.  This one picks up almost where the first left off with the two princes heading off to the boarder. Laurent's still playing the game with his uncle for the throne, but will he open up to Damen and help him? Can they help each other? Will this be the end of them both? More importantly,

50/50 Friday - Favorite/Least Favorite Title

50/50 Friday is hosted here on this blog and over at Blue Eye Books .  What is 50/50 Friday? Everyone has a favorite and then we also have something we dislike. Like a coin, there are two sides to every question. Example: best sequel you've read/worst sequel you've read. So that's what 50/50 Friday is all about. We will have a new topic every Friday (something bookish of course!). If you have have ideas for this meme don't be scared to let us know! Topic for the Week Favorite/Least Favorite Title This is one that really doesn't bother me so much. I care more about book covers and less about the title. That being said, there are a few titles that just don't mesh with me and some that I like more than other's. I thought about putting the one book title that really bugs me but decided I didn't want the hate so I've chosen a much different one. Here we go!  Least Favorite Book Title  Cum for Bigfoot Yeah... I don't even know why this is a thing but t

Bed of Flowers - ARC Review + Excerpt + Giveaway

Bonny Reed is beautiful, inside and out. A loyal friend and loving daughter, she's newly engaged to her small town's most eligible bachelor. She's happy for herself--but mostly for her family, who need the security her marriage will bring. An old enemy shatters her illusions. First Baron Loel cost Bonny's family her fortune. Now he's insisting that her fiancĂ© has hidden flaws, secrets so dark that--if she believed him--she'd have to call off the wedding. How will she choose? When the truth comes out, Bonny will have to choose between doing what's right and what's easy. Between her family and her best friend. And hardest of all--between her honor and the love of a man who everyone wants her to hate. Excerpt “So,” said Iris, as they began their circuit. “I want to hear all about your walk with Mr. Gavin.” Bonny chewed her lip. She suspected that she wasn’t supposed to discuss intimate matters with an unmarried friend. But she’d never hid anything important

Music Monday - Sam Smith

This meme is hosted over at Always Me So we are continuing our Pride Month theme and using another LGBT artist. He's not one of my favorites as I've not really liked many of his songs. They're okay, just not my taste, these two songs, I do happen to like though. So here we go!

2 Mini NetGalley Reviews - Traditional Wicca & Blood and Absinthe

So I'm almost all caught up on my NetGalley reviews, which makes me insanely happy and gives me one less thing to stress about. Yay!  One of those reviews is about Wicca and finding a coven. The other is about vampires. Let's let's just jump right into it. “A masterful gem of insight and wisdom, Traditional Wicca: A Seeker’s Guide reveals the time-honored practices of initiatory Wicca, thought all but lost by many, but hidden like so many occult secrets in plain sight. Drawing a clear and respectful distinction between eclectic Wicca and its older more traditional sibling, Thorn Mooney takes us on a personal journey exploring the powers and the pitfalls of the initiatory inner court, revealing the persistence of a thriving and dynamic Craft.”—Storm Faerywolf, author of Betwixt and Between “Traditional Wicca is a unique and important book. It’s amazing to me that in over 70 years of publishing on the subject of Wicca, nothing like this book has ever been written! . . . The c

50/50 Friday - Favorite/Least Favorite Book with a Short/Long Title

50/50 Friday is hosted here on this blog and over at Blue Eye Books .  What is 50/50 Friday? Everyone has a favorite and then we also have something we dislike. Like a coin, there are two sides to every question. Example: best sequel you've read/worst sequel you've read. So that's what 50/50 Friday is all about. We will have a new topic every Friday (something bookish of course!). If you have have ideas for this meme don't be scared to let us know! Topic for the Week Favorite/Least Favorite Book with a Short/Long Title So for this I will do my favorite book with a long title and short title. You can do both if you wish or just however you want to do it. I just want to spread some positivity around this week. Favorite Book with a Long Title  A Court of Mist and Fury If you've spent any time on my blog then this will be no surprise for you at all. I love this novel. It's amazing!  Feyre survived Amarantha's clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep

2 Amazing NetGalley Reviews (Sweet Black Waves & You Are Psychic)

Not you without me, not me without you. Two proud kingdoms stand on opposite shores, with only a bloody history between them. As best friend and lady-in-waiting to the princess, Branwen is guided by two principles: devotion to her homeland and hatred for the raiders who killed her parents. When she unknowingly saves the life of her enemy, he awakens her ancient healing magic and opens her heart. Branwen begins to dream of peace, but the princess she serves is not so easily convinced. Fighting for what's right, even as her powers grow beyond her control, will set Branwen against both her best friend and the only man she's ever loved. Inspired by the star-crossed tale of Tristan and Eseult, this is the story of the legend’s true heroine: Branwen. For fans of Graceling and The Mists of Avalon, this is the first book of a lush fantasy trilogy about warring countries, family secrets, and forbidden romance. ARC Breakdown  Holy mother of God.... I admit, I did not expect this book to

May 2018 Wrap Up!

I read 27 books this month. Which is amazing because for the first part of the month I was doing training for another job. Although after all that training the boss was a jerk and told me my car wasn't good enough... even after I'd found out that someone else working there had a car like mine. I guess she didn't like my face, because she sure as hell didn't know me.  Anyway, moving on, I'm now working towards being a teacher's aid. Hopefully that will be easier on me. They don't care what kind of car I have!  I found a few new bands to listen to: As It Is and Spiral Dance . But you're here to see how what books I read. So let's jump into it! Manga Wiccan/New Age Review Romance  Review Paranormal Romance  Review Coming Soon! YA Books Review Review LGBT Reads Review Coming Soon! Review to Come! Working on Review! Review to Come! Paranormal  I hope that next month is just as good as this one! What all did you read in May? Let me know below! Until next