Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from August, 2020

Music Monday - SuperM

This meme is hosted over at Always Me This share some fun K-Pop today! This is one of the only K-Pop groups I keep up with these days as I'm a second generation girl. But this group is fun and one song is in English. Enjoy!!!

Resident Evil Zero Hour -Mini Book Breakdown

Sent to investigate a series of grisly murders in Raccoon City, S.T.A.R.S Bravo Team scrambles into action. BEFORE THE MANSION. BEFORE THE DISASTER. EVIL IS BORN. Following a helicopter crash, the team stumble across a gruesome sight: an overturned military transport truck riddled with corpses - and that’s only the beginning of their nightmare. As evil grows around them, rookie member Rebecca Chambers wonders what she’s gotten herself into. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Book Breakdown I've talked about the video game series but not the books. So let's change that! I wanted to read a darker novel and so I decided to go through this series again. This book is the novel version of the game Resident Evil Zero.  We follow Rebecca and Billy as they try to survive all the crazy things that have gotten loose in the forest of Raccoon City and beyond. It's a thrill ride, you never know when a zombie is going to pop

Fangs by Sarah Andersen - Graphic Novel Review

A love story between a vampire and a werewolf by the creator of the enormously popular Sarah's Scribbles comics. Elsie the vampire is three hundred years old, but in all that time, she has never met her match. This all changes one night in a bar when she meets Jimmy, a charming werewolf with a wry sense of humor and a fondness for running wild during the full moon. Together they enjoy horror films and scary novels, shady strolls, fine dining (though never with garlic), and a genuine fondness for each other’s unusual habits, macabre lifestyles, and monstrous appetites. First featured as a webcomic series on Tapas, Fangs chronicles the humor, sweetness, and awkwardness of meeting someone perfectly suited to you but also vastly different. Filled with Sarah Andersen’s beautiful gothic illustrations and relatable relationship humor, Fangs has all the makings of a cult classic. Book Breakdown  This was really cute! Elsie can't seem to find a boyfriend because sh

Music Monday - Karliene

This meme is hosted over at Always Me When I was little my grandmother read the book Memoirs of a Geisha . I saw the cover and the model's eyes grabbed me. I wanted to read the book too. So my parents got me a copy and I started to read it. I'd discuss parts of it with my grandma but I never got to finish it... I took it to school and a friend wanted to read it and so I let her read it over lunch. The school found out and decided it wasn't right for someone my age to read this and to share it at school. They took the book, I didn't want to tell my parents because I'd already gotten into trouble for something else recently and didn't want to start more drama.  But years later, when I was out of that school and their rules, I found the book used and picked it up and finally finished it. I loved it. I also love the movie. It really feels like another world and this song gave me that feeling back.  This song I heard because of the TV show Vikin

The Vampire's Assistant By Darren Shan (Cirque Du Freak #2) - Book Breakdown

My Name is Darren Shan. I'm a half-vampire. I wasn't born that way. I used to be ordinary. My days as a human were over. My nights as a vampire's assistant had begun. Darren joins the powerful vampire Mr. Crepsley as his assistant, and they return to the mysterious freak show. There, Darren makes friends with the snake-boy, Evra Von. As he struggles with his new life as a vampire's assistant, Darren tries desperately to resist the temptation that sickens him ...the one thing that can keep him alive. But destiny is calling... The wolf-man is waiting. ~~~~~~~~~~~~

Music Monday - Soothing Songs

This meme is hosted over at Always Me So for a while I was in a really bad reading slump. I didn't even want to pick up a book! I was also really depressed during this time. It wasn't pretty. But when I heard this song it made me want to read again. It inspired me. I hope it does the same for you. This next one is by someone I've shared a lot from but I wanted to share this one because it really stuck out to me. It sounds a lot different than the normal stuff he does but I still like it. Hopefully, you like it too!  Have a great week and stay safe!

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild - Video Game Nonsense

Now, I'm going to admit something that would shock the hardcore Zelda lovers out here. You ready for it? This is the first Zelda game I've ever played. No joke. After hunting for months and months, I finally found a Switch and my partner got it for me. I was going to skip this game because I don't care about Zelda. I'm a Mario girl all the way. But my brother-in-law talked about it a little and I heard it was an open world... I'm a sucker for open-world games! Moblin So... I bought it. Why not right? Boy, let me tell you, I was so lost! Every time I came across a red Moblin I would get killed in one swipe! I couldn't even run more than a few seconds without getting so winded that Link would just stop moving and try and catch his breath! Look, I'm not in the best shape ever but I can run faster and longer than this great Knight! So I put the game down for a few days or I told myself I was at least, but even though I was getting my butt kic

Cirque Du Freak by Darren Shan - Book Breakdown

In the tradition of Stephen King's 'Salem's Lot, Cirque Du Freak is the frightening saga of a young boy whose visit to a mysterious freak show leads him on a journey into a dark world of vampires. Filled with grotesque creatures, murderous vampires, and a petrifying ending, Cirque Du Freak will chill, thrill, and leave readers begging for more. I was an ordinary boy, until I visited the Cirque Du Freak... until I met Madam Octa... until I came face to face with a creature of the night. That's when my life changed completely. I don't expect you to believe me, but everything I describe in this book is absolutely true... ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Book Breakdown According to Goodreads, I've read this book five times. So I know I've read it a lot more than that. I still love this series. I found it when it was all finished as a wee little kid and read them all so fast that my parents took me to the book store every single da

Writing Rambles - Carnival of Devils

I wrote this in 2018, I believe, as a challenge my partner set for me. It's since become a tradition of ours to write something scary during October. I'll give him an idea for a screenplay and he'll give me an idea for a short story. It's fun and something we can do together since we both love horror. I've been revising this one, making it longer, adding more details recently and thought I'd share this original one with you, so if you can, please read and tell me what you think, ignore any typos please, I'm such a messy writer that it's not even funny. I'm usually going so fast to get the thoughts out of my head that important things like grammar and spelling take a nose dive till I go back and look at it. I cleaned it up quite a bit so it's actually readable but you might still find a little something here or there. So without further ado, please let me welcome you to the Carnival of Devils. I promise you it's a thrill ride that you&#

Music Monday - Ashley Serena (#2)

This meme is hosted over at Always Me Last week I shared some sad pop songs and this week I want to share two more songs by someone I've shared before but she recently put out this new song and I'm in love with it. It reminds me a lot of Wicked Lovely. If you know that book then you've been reading YA a long time and you deserve a black star!  Anyway, let's just get into these wonderful songs. Let her voice carry you away to somewhere better...

The Dare By Elle Kennedy - Book Breakdown

College was supposed to be my chance to get over my ugly-duckling complex and spread my wings. Instead, I wound up in a sorority full of mean girls. I already have a hard time fitting in, so when my Kappa Chi sisters issue the challenge, I can’t say no. The dare: seduce the hottest new hockey player in the junior class. Conor Edwards is a regular at Greek Row parties…and in Greek Row sorority beds. He’s the one you fall for before you learn that guys like him don’t give girls like me a second glance. Except Mr. Popular throws me for a loop—rather than laughing in my face, he does me a solid by letting me take him upstairs to pretend we’re getting busy. Even crazier, now he wants to keep pretending. Turns out Conor loves games, and he thinks it’s fun to pull the wool over my frenemies’ eyes. But resisting his easy charm and surfer-boy hotness is darn near impossible. Though I’m realizing there’s much more to Conor’s story than his fan club can see. And the longer this silly

3 Things I Hope to See in Midnight Sun

Let's not waste any time! I simply can't wait to read this book! I loved Twilight as a young one and even to this day I don't hate it like a lot of Twilight fans do now. When I read the first few chapters off of the author's website when it leaked, I couldn't wait for this book! Now, many years later, I finally get to read it!  Here are a few things I hope to see in Midnight Sun!  1) Getting to know everyone's thoughts through Edward. There are many moments throughout the whole series that I would love to see what's happening in Alice's head or even all the kids at school. So to finally be able to get a little of this, is just exciting!  2) Edward's first impression of Bella. Hers is the only mind he can't read, you know this is going to be epic when we finally see just how many emotions flow through him at the sight of her.  3) Edward with his family when Jasper and Alice take Bella away from Forks. I know we are told what&

Music Monday - Sad Pop Songs

This meme is hosted over at Always Me This is my first Music Monday in over a month! Wow! Time sure flies, I needed the break though. My mental health wasn't doing so well because of everything that is going on in the world. And when I'm depressed, I'm that weird person that looks for sad songs that just make me feel worse instead of trying to find happy songs. Yeah... that's not healthy I know. But anyway, I hope you enjoy these songs! I also hope you're going okay during all this. You're not alone even if it feels like it. 

UPDATE! The Future of 50/50 Friday & More

     Since 10/7/2016, I've kept 50/50 Friday going. I had lots of help from the amazing Laura for a few years but then she needed to take a break and I've been running it alone. I'm not very creative, that's always been something that I don't like about myself, so after a bit, I ran out of topic ideas or the ones I came up with were no longer fun for me.       The worry of having to make sure I have a post up every Friday was starting to get to me. My whole world has changed, as I'm sure yours has as well. I couldn't keep this up anymore. I'm sorry for those that liked this meme. I really am.       Next, I would like to talk about my feelings with the book world. It's really changed since I first started blogging, it used to be the kind of place where we could just talk about the books that we loved. Now, it's turned into something I can't always stand behind. Everyone trying to tear down books they don't like, trying