Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from April, 2022

Update!

Hey there! This is just a quick post to say that I'm sorry I've not been blog hopping on Sunday's like usual. Last week my family caught strep and a cold and I felt like the dead!  I'm feeling a little better now and plan to be blog hoping over this Sunday like normal. Stay safe and healthy my friend! I'll see you soon!

3 Bite Sized Reviews!

Imogen, the Queen of Hearts, is known for taking the hearts of those who betray her, including her servants. Her king, Rav, ventures to the mortal world to lure in new prey to replace their dwindling help. One bite, one simple exchange of her blood is all it will take for a mortal to become one of them. And this time, Rav chooses a girl named Alice. Breakdown  I love Alice in Wonderland retellings or even new takes on the mythos. My favorite take on the story has to be Splintered but let me tell you if this series keeps going the way it’s going, then Vampires in Wonderland is going to be right there beside it!!! I mean come on! Alice in Wonderland, with vampires mixed with Candace Robinson’s unique and imaginary storytelling, is a win-win! My only complaint is I wanted more. This series by Amber R. Duell and Candace Robinson is one to watch! **I was given this novel in exchange for an honest review**   They ended their marriage, but they never fell out of love... Law student Anita Vira

5 Friday - Twist Endings

So the five can be connections of any kind. Books can have been read last year or any year. Books can be used more than once.They may not have been read yet. They might be ones you just bought or want to buy.  It can be as simple or as complicated as you like. Maybe it’s not a list of actual books, but things connected to books – e.g. favourite book shops, recipes etc. It might even be five movies related to books or five poems or five poets or five bookish moments, five thoughts about reading – be creative! - The Book Date Today I wanted to share five books with killer twist endings! Let's not waste any time! Where were you on October 1st at 3:03 pm? Graphic artist Clay Riddell was in the heart of Boston on that brilliant autumn afternoon when hell was unleashed before his eyes. Without warning, carnage and chaos reigned. Ordinary people fell victim to the basest, most animalistic destruction. And the apocalypse began with the ring of a cell phone... Marriage can be a real killer.

The Good Girl's Guide to Rakes - Review

When Kieran Ransome’s latest antics result in a massive scandal, his father issues an ultimatum: find a respectable wife or inherit nothing. But as one of London’s most inveterate scoundrels, Kieran doesn’t know any ladies who fit the bill. Or does he? Celeste Kilburn is a society darling, beloved by influential members of the ton. But keeping a spotless reputation leaves little room for adventure and she longs to escape her gilded cage, especially with her impending engagement to a stuffy earl. When Kieran—her older brother’s best friend and an irresistibly attractive rogue—begs for her help, Celeste makes a deal: she’ll introduce him to the right social circles if he’ll show her the scandalous side of London. In between proper teas and garden parties, Kieran escorts Celeste—disguised as “Salome”—to rowdy gaming hells, wild fĂȘtes, and sensual art salons. As they spend more time together, their initial attraction builds to a desperate desire that neither can ignore. But when someone di

Music Monday - (More) Ambience

This meme is hosted over at Always Me Hello and welcome to another... Monday. Ugh, don’t you just hate Monday? I had a three-day weekend, so I got to sleep in some and that makes getting up early to get to class even harder.  How was your weekend? Mine started off rough. My grandmama had a minor heart attack and had to have a stint put in, but she seems to do okay now. I really hope it stays that way. Prayers/positive energy would be very much appreciated.  But today I wanted to share some ambiences that just really relax me. I hope you enjoy them! Which was your favorite? Let me know below and I hope you have a wonderful week! Stay safe out there! 

Friday 5 - Book Adaptations

So the five can be connections of any kind. Books can have been read last year or any year. Books can be used more than once.They may not have been read yet. They might be ones you just bought or want to buy.  It can be as simple or as complicated as you like. Maybe it’s not a list of actual books, but things connected to books – e.g. favourite book shops, recipes etc. It might even be five movies related to books or five poems or five poets or five bookish moments, five thoughts about reading – be creative! - The Book Date

Mid April Reading Update (Four Thousand Days, Manga, When He Was Wicked)

Since I've actually read a few books this month and the last part of March I actually have something to share with you! I'm as stunned as you are!  Let's go!  When I saw this floating around the blog world, it caught my eye. Mainly for the name Margaret Murray. If cause you know nothing about her, some say she’s the mother of witches and same say her work was discredited .  Either way, she brought witchcraft into the mainstream during her time and she was a first wave feminist. So she was an important figure in history either way.  So, I had to read this book! I enjoyed it, but it wasn’t what I hoped it would. The writing was a little weird to me and took me a bit to get into the story because of it. You can tell a man wrote it for sure. But once you get into the flow, it’s not so bad anymore.  The story itself was pretty interesting, and I enjoyed the time because I’ve been into historical books as of late. I won’t give away any plot since this is a mystery and I hate whe

Music Monday - Recent Favorites

Music Monday is hosted over at Always Me So which is your favorite this week? Let me know below! I hope you have a safe and happy week. 

Friday 5 - 5 Reasons I No Longer Have A TBR

So the five can be connections of any kind. Books can have been read last year or any year. Books can be used more than once.They may not have been read yet. They might be ones you just bought or want to buy.  It can be as simple or as complicated as you like. Maybe it’s not a list of actual books, but things connected to books – e.g. favourite book shops, recipes etc. It might even be five movies related to books or five poems or five poets or five bookish moments, five thoughts about reading – be creative! - The Book Date

Vampire Dormitory Volume 1 - Review

"I'll do it! I'll become your thrall!" A crossdressing girl and an otaku vampire find themselves entangled in a dangerous relationship. Don't miss this heart-pounding romance from the award-winning Ema Toyama, perfect for fans of Crimson Spell, Black Bird, and He's My Only Vampire! BLOOD OVER FLOWERS Mito has no family to rely on. She lives on the streets, disguised as a boy. Ruka is an otaku vampire interested only in 2D girls. After Ruka saves Mito from a perilous situation, he makes her an offer: "Become my subservient thrall and let me drink your blood whenever I wish! In return, you can live with me—in the boys' dorm!" But to stay with him, Mito must hide the fact that she's a girl. Every day is a new danger—to say nothing of that bloodthirsty vampire! Book Breakdown No one loves or wants Mito. She’s barely surviving but when a vampire decides to make her his thrall with the promise of loving her until her sour blood ripens, she jumps he

Music Monday - Recent Favorites

This meme is hosted over at Always Me  Two very different vibes for today. But both have recently been released. Tell me which is your favorite.  So which of these are you going to choose for your Monday? Let me know below! I really hope you have a great week! Stay safe and happy reading! 

Friday 5 - Vampires

So the five can be connections of any kind. Books can have been read last year or any year. Books can be used more than once.They may not have been read yet. They might be ones you just bought or want to buy.  It can be as simple or as complicated as you like. Maybe it’s not a list of actual books, but things connected to books – e.g. favourite book shops, recipes etc. It might even be five movies related to books or five poems or five poets or five bookish moments, five thoughts about reading – be creative! - The Book Date